Presidential Election Forecast: Previewing Eighteen Candidates in Ninety Minutes (NYC)

Saturday, September 14, 2019 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm


3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Presidential Election Forecast: Previewing Eighteen Candidates in Ninety Minutes

Wendy Schiller / Brown University

Renowned Brown University Political Science Professor Wendy Schiller will discuss the candidates for president in the 2020 election. She will assess each candidate's strengths and weaknesses in the context of the party convention and platform, personality, organization, and fundraising. She will explain the strategies that candidates will have to employ to win key states and ensure turnout among their own party's base, as well as independent voters, in order to win the the general election.

Professor Schiller will also place the 2020 election in historic, demographic, and political context as it compares to other elections. How has the electorate changed in terms of age, gender, income, education and race? What are the key issues likely to be in this election that are the same or different from prior elections? How will social media change the fundamentals of campaigning? She will also cover the ways in which the congressional elections for the U.S. House and U.S. Senate will interact with the presidential elections.

Candidates scheduled to be discussed:

Joe Biden, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, Bill de Blasio, Julián Castro, Tulsi Gabbard, Kirsten Gillibrand, Kamala Harris, John Hickenlooper, Jay Inslee, Amy Klobuchar, Beto O'Rourke, Tim Ryan, Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson, Andrew Yang, & Donald Trump

Wendy Schiller / Brown University

Wendy Schiller is the Chair of the Political Science Department at Brown University. She is an expert in the field of the U.S. Congress and political representation, and the recent recipient of a National Science Foundation grant to study party conflict and factionalism in the U.S. Senate. Professor Schiller has been a guest scholar at the Brookings Institution and a six-time recipient of the Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award at Brown.